Guatemala Declares State of Calamity in Seven Departments after Earthquake

Posted on July 11, 2014 • Filed under: Earthquake, Guatemala, TRAVEL reported on 7 July a strong earthquake struck Guatemala, mainly affecting the Departments of San Marcos, Quetzaltenango, Huehuetenango, Totonicapan, Sololá, Retalhuleu and Suchitepequez. Aftershocks have also been felt. Local authorities have reported the death of 4 people and there has been damage to infrastructure, property in these departments and transport routes.. Travel disruption is likely in the most affected areas. On 10th July the President declared a “State of Public Calamity” for 30 days in order for the local authorities to coordinate relief and reconstruction efforts in these 7 departments. Please monitor the situation and follow the advice of local authorities. Read Article

Share This Story
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Add to favorites
  • email