Status of Same Sex Unions in Mexico

Posted on September 25, 2014 • Filed under: Culture, Mexico, Social Issues reported in Mexico, only civil marriages are recognized by the law, and all its proceedings fall under state legislation.[1] Same-sex marriage is legally performed in Mexico City and in the states of Quintana Roo and Coahuila, but explicitly banned in the state of Yucatán[2] (although the prohibition is limited to its performance within state boundaries, not its recognition, and it is still being challenged in the Mexican courts).[3] In addition, same-sex couples have been able to marry in individual cases in Aguascalientes, Baja California, Campeche, Chihuahua, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Jalisco, State of Mexico, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Querétaro, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Sonora, Veracruz, and Yucatán. Same-sex civil unions are legally performed in Mexico City and in the states of Coahuila, Colima,[2] Jalisco,[4] and Campeche.[5] Since August 2010, same-sex marriages performed within Mexico are recognized by the 31 states without exception, and fundamental spousal rights (such as alimony payments, inheritance rights, and the coverage of spouses by the federal social security system) also apply to same-sex couples across the country.[6] Read Article

Share This Story
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Add to favorites
  • email